Your Texas Driver License Could Be Suspended If…

By | August 22, 2017

The Texas Department of Public Safety, can revoke or suspend your license for a variety of reasons, for different lengths of time, until certain criteria is met.

A failure to obey state rule and laws of the road, can result in a revocation or suspension of your Texas Driver License. How long your suspension, and what you pay for a fine, will depend on the offense that a driver has violated.

Reasons D.P.S. Could suspend your license

Brazoria County Motorists Look Out!

As mentioned above, a Texas motorist can violate different rules and laws of the road, and in Texas, the Department of Safety will levy a suspension for these reasons:

  • An unpaid traffic ticket,
  • Driving while under the influence,
  • Failure to comply with child support payments,
  • Failure to appear in court along with other serious offenses.

Looking for Pearland, Texas Lawyer?

Contact “The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates”


When your Texas Driver License is suspended, or you may face a suspension, the D.P.S. will send out a letter informing you of your violation and the result.

In Texas, once you submit your payments for traffic fines, and have met the requirements, you may go ahead and attempt to reinstate your driver’s license.

A driver can pay their reinstatement fees online. You will need to provide the following personal information; Date of birth, Drivers License or Identification number, and the last four digits of your social security number. After you log in and see the compliance requirement option, you will pay the fee by entering your credit card number and information.

The alternative method of reinstatement is by submitting the required documents, and your date of birth, the notices you received from the D.P.S and I.D. or driver’s license number.

There are an assortment of fees you could end up paying to the Department of Safety. These are but not limited to;

  • Drivers Improvement Tax
  • Safety Responsibility Fee
  • Administrative License Revocation Fee
  • Education Program Fee, or other fees that are owed.

These will of course depend on the offense.

How long you lose your license, or have it suspended, will vary upon the offense. For instance, if you’re older than 21 and refused a blood or breathalyzer test, you could have your license suspended for 90 days to two years.

If you are a minor and are caught with alcohol, you could be suspended anywhere from 60 days to two years.

You can always check your status by requesting a copy of your drivers record. You will need to submit the same information that was written above.

Texas Points System


Texas can issue a suspense or revocation if you exceed a certain accumulation of demerit points.

  • -2 points for in and out of state convictions.
  • -3 points for a participation in a crash.
  • -6 or more points is a mandatory $100 surcharge, and $25 for every subsequent point you are convicted with.

In Texas, you can always lower your demerit point count, by completing certain traffic schools that are accredited by the state or D.P.S.

Drivers Responsibility Program allows a person with unpaid fines to qualify for a waiver or reduction in the amount that is owed in order to maintain driving services. Completing the Defense Driver Course, could assist you with a point deduction.

Finally, there are two types of suspensions, mandatory and administrative.


  • DWI
  • Causing death, manslaughter, or injuries while under the influence.
  • Public road car racing.
  • Driving with an invalid license
  • Providing false information or documentation to a police officer or authority.


  • Traffic laws violation
  • Invalid license
  • Failure to do the Drug Education Program
  • Violation Probation
  • Failure to take/pass a blood or breathalyzer test when requested.

If you’re in a situations like this, and you live in Pearland, TX, contact The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates for assistance.